Sustainability Advisory Committee


  • The Sustainability Advisory Committee meets the second Tuesday of January, April, July and October at 3:30 p.m. at the Township office, 1840 Municipal Drive.

Check out the recent Op-Ed in LNP from the Sustainability Advisory Committee - We Can Be The Heroes Our Planet Needs

      Environmental and Gardening Tips

   One of the easiest and most enjoyable ways to improve the environmental balance is to use native plants that are attractive to pollinator insects. Here is a list of several nearby places where you can buy native plants this spring. Call Luci Steele (717-394-3193) for questions.

  1. PSU Master Gardener Plant Sale-May 7 at Farm and Home Center at 1383 Arcadia Road, 17601 from 8 a.m. to closing. Come early for best selection. In a few weeks I’ll provide links for pre-ordered kits of plant plugs (many will be natives) that you can pick up at the Farm and Home Center on 5/7.
  2. Landis Valley Herb Fair-Landis Valley Farm Museum on May 6 and 7 at 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. 
  3. Manheim Township Native Plant Sale-April 30 at 8:00 a.m. -1:00 p.m. at Overlook community Campus - Learn more about invasive plants commonly planted and some of the native plants that you can you use to replace them.
  4. Lancaster County Conservation District-on-line plant sale at . Deadline to order is March 14 and pick up is at Farm and Home Center on Arcadia Road on April 13 from 8 am- 5pm. Some good pollinator plants on the list are: Tulip Poplar, Arrowwood Viburnum, Elderberry, Bayberry, Redbud, Serviceberry, Silky Dogwood, Echinacea, Monarda, Salvia, Spicebush and Sweet Bay Magnolia. For questions call 717-299-5361 x.5

  • Jeremy A. Zimmerman, Chairperson

    Term Expires: January 2025

  • John B. Brakeall, Vice Chairperson

    Term Expires: January 2025

  •  Brenda Kauffman, Secretary

    Term Expires: January 2026

  • Ryan C. Dodson

    Term Expires: January 2024

  • Carol Gifford

    Term Expires: January 2026

  • Stella T.A.H. Sexton

    Term Expires:  January 2026

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Ordinance 2020-5 Establishing Advisory Committees

Resolution 2020-49 Establishing Sustainability Advisory Committee


To review and recommend to the Board of Commissioners short- term and long- term policies and actions that would help to create the most effective ways for monitoring and preserving our natural resources in order to sustain and protect our environment for future generations. This committee should review actions and policies Manheim Township can take related to specific uses and properties within Manheim Township, related to the Township' s municipal operations and related to Manheim Township as a whole. The committee should include in its review and recommendations key sustainability issues, including, but not limited addressing water, air, storm water, electric/gas, natural gas, solar/wind energy savings, and the carbon footprint.

Structure and Organization

  • The committee shall be a standing committee. 
  • The committee shall consist of up to 9 members appointed by the Commissioners pursuant to and subject to the provisions of § 3- 2 of the Code. 
  • The committee shall meet at least 4 times per year. 
  • The Commissioners shall annually appoint a Chair and Vice Chair for the committee. 
  • The committee is subject to and shall comply with all of the provisions of Chapter 3 of the Code setting forth the requirements and limitations of citizens' advisory committees. 
  • The committee is strictly advisory in nature and has no decision -making authority. 
  • The committee is prohibited from incurring expenses, making payments, entering contracts, leases or obligations or otherwise binding the Township without the expressed consent of the Commissioners.